Foto: Rodrigo Aguiar Ruiz

Lucas di Grassi on pole and podium at home race

Lucas di Grassi claimed his 18th podium position in Formula E after finishing second in the race in Berlin and, as a result, presented his ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport team with yet another successful result. Perfect motivation for the second race on Sunday

In qualifying at midday Lucas di Grassi had already inspired the many fans at the former airport in Tempelhof: in the super pole, the Brazilian clinched the best grid position by the razor-thin margin of one thousandth of a second – when converted into distance this is just three centimeters on the 2.277 kilometer track. 

However, in the race, di Grassi had to let eventual winner Felix Rosenqvist by just before the mandatory pit stop including car change. “The battery temperature climbed very quickly, which meant I had to reduce my pace. Felix could overtake, so afterwards I concentrated on securing the points for second place,” said di Grassi, who was nevertheless happy. “Pole position, Champagne and a trophy – that was a great day’s work for us.” 

The Brazilian was impressed by the backdrop in Tempelhof. “The atmosphere was amazing, many thanks to all the fans, who supported us today”. A special eye-catcher: more than 400 Schaeffler employees, who occupied an entire grandstand and frenetically cheered on their two drivers.

The opportunity to win the next trophy arises on Sunday when Formula E stages its eighth race of the season in Berlin. By finishing on the podium, Lucas di Grassi reduced his deficit to 22 points to championship leader Sébastien Buemi. In the teams’ classification, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport also holds second position.

Race 1 Results – Berlin
1. Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing, 44 laps in 53min19s661

2. Lucas di Grassi, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport, +2s232
3. Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra Racing, +4s058
4. Jose Maria Lopez, DS Virgin Racing, +13s638
5. Nico Prost, Renault e.dams, +19s068
6. Daniel Abt, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport, +19s799
7. Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing, +20s065
8. Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH, +20s689
9. Maro Engel, Venturi Formula E, +39s030
10. Oliver Turvey, NextEV NIO, +40s985
11. Stephane Sarrazin, TECHEETAH, +42s682
12. Nelson Piquet Jr, NextEV NIO, +42s980
13. Jerome D’Ambrosio, Faraday Future Dragon Racing, +45s712
14. Adam Carroll, Panasonic Jaguar Racing, +49s658
15. Loic Duval, Faraday Future Dragon Racing, +59s010
16. Antonio Felix da Costa, Andretti Formula E, +1min00s269
17. Robin Frijns, Andretti Formula E, +1min02s463
18. Tom Dillmann, Venturi Formula E, +1min07s695
19. Mitch Evans, Panasonic Jaguar Racing, DNF
20. Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.dams, DSQ

Championship standings
1. Sebastien Buemi, Renault e.dams – 132 points

2. Lucas di Grassi, ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport – 110
3. Nico Prost, Renault e.dams – 68
4. Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindra Racing – 65
5. Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra Racing – 62
6. Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH – 44

Lucas Di Grassi is sponsored by Qualcomm, Aethra, KNM, Oris Watches, BlueFox and Mumm