Audi E-tron FE06 #11 (Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler), Lucas Di Grassi

Di Grassi keeps the 5th position in the standings

Lucas says team will use calendar break to improve the performance the car performance


Lucas Di Grassi scored points again in the Formula E World Championship. This time in the fifth round of the season, in Morocco, where again the Brazilian faced problems with the pace of his car – something that prevented him from attacking positions ahead. Di Grassi ended the race in seventh place, remaining in fifth position in the standings – a position he aimed to surpass with a good race on the streets of Marrakesh. But the plans were postponed:

“We did another recovery race, starting from behind and gradually gaining positions,” he said. “And we did our best today, within the technical conditions we had. We got six important points for the championship. And that was as much as possible here today. The problem is that at the moment we don’t have the best car. I can assure you that we are working hard to improve. And that is the only way to fight for the championship this year again. In the break interval we will have until the next race, we will work hard at the team headquarters. We need to gain speed and consistency. Until then, we are doing the best we can. We are in the fight and we are going for it”, summarized Di Grassi.

The race winner this Saturday (29) was Portuguese António Félix da Costa from the current champion team, the DS Techeetah. The Lusitanian became the fifth different winner in five raves. With the result Félix da Costa also got the championship lead. The next round of the Formula E World Championship will take place on April 4, in the streets of Rome, Italy.

Standings: 1) António Félix da Costa (Portugal, DS Techeetah), 67 points; 2) Mitch Evans (New Zealand, Panasonic Jaguar Racing), 56; 3) Alexander Sims (England, BMW Andretti Motorsport), 46; 4) Maxililian Guenther (Germany, BMW Andretti Motorsports), 44; 5) Lucas Di Grassi (Brazil, Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler) and Stoffel Vandoorne (Belgium, Mercedes-Benz EQ), 38; 7) Edoardo Mortara (Switzerland, Rokit Venturi Racing), 32; 8) Jean-Éric Vergne (France, DS Techeetah), 31 points.