Audi E-tron FE05 #11 (Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler), Lucas Di Grassi

Formula E: Di Grassi to focus on strategy that gave him a title and a vice in last seasons

Again at a disadvantage, Brazilian maintains focus and warns: “we have nothing to lose”


The Formula E World Championship gets to its closing double round this weekend (July 13 and 14) with the two races on the streets of New York. Brazilian Lucas Di Grassi will enter the track with the difficult task of reversing the 32-point deficit for leader Jean-Éric Vergne (DS Techeetah team) and promises: “We will do our part. Obviously it will be very difficult. Being champion or vice is something that does not just depend on our results. But one thing our team is committed to do: fight to the last inch of track, as is our tradition, “said Lucas, champion of the 2016/2017 season. “We have nothing to lose, but everything to gain. For us, it is an all or nothing “, completes the Brazilian.

Maintaining focus and determination to the finish gave Di Grassi the 2016/2017 champion title and last year’s runner-up position. He has in his favour a very strong retrospective in the North American street circuit. In 2018, Lucas got a win and a second place in NY, completing a spectacular reaction that set the record of seven consecutive podiums and brought him from the bottom of the standings in the season fifth round to the runner-up position in the 13th round, which closed the championship.

Before that, in 2017, Di Grassi got to the final race of the season in Canada, with ten points of disadvantage to Swiss Sebastien Buemi (now in the Nissan e-DAMS squad). At the time, Lucas reversed the situation and won the championship. “In the last two seasons, we have focused on our potential and we have achieved a title and a runner-up. It’s our way to do things, the style of the team. We’ll use it again, “Di Grassi said.

Standings after eleven championship rounds: 1) Jean-Eric Vergne (France, DS Techeetah), 130 points; 2) Lucas Di Grassi (Brazil, Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler), 98; 3) Mitch Evans (New Zealand, Panasonic Jaguar), 87; 4) André Lotterer (Germany, DS Techeetah), 86; 5) António Félix da Costa (Portugal, BMW Andretti), 82; 6) Robin Frijns (Netherlands, Envision Virgin Racing), 81.