Lucas Di Grassi

After becoming the first driver to score more than 750 points, Di Grassi is back on track in Morocco

New record achieved in the previous round is another incentive for the Audi Sports team


Brazilian Lucas Di Grassi returns to the track next Saturday (29), with the dispute of the Morocco e-Prix, fifth round of the Formula E World Championship. Driver of the Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler team, Lucas stands fifth in the points, just fifteen points from the leader in a season that has had different winners in the four races so far. Lucas focus on consistency to fight for his second title: “Even if we have a race far from ideal, in this championship the important thing is always to score points”, says Di Grassi who in terms of points is the most efficient driver of Formula E: in the previous round, Mexico, the Brazilian became the first in history to overcome the barrier of 750 points.

Di Grassi was sixth in the Mexico e-Prix. In the first four races, Lucas scored 32 points on the track, against 47 from Mitch Evans (New Zealand, Panasonic Jaguar), who took the lead after winning the fourth round. “The championship is still in the beginning, we have different winners in each race and so far everyone has a chance to fight for the title”, he sums it up. “My goal in Morocco is to try to get a starting place amongst the top ten. So far, being among the first placed drivers in the stands means I always enter the track in the first group, when the track still has no grip and is far from ideal. If I can manage a top ten position in the starting grid, anything will be possible ”, said the Brazilian.

This will be the fourth edition of the Morocco e-Prix. The track is located on the outskirts of the capital, Marrakesh, and mixes sections of a permanent race track with city streets. Last year, Di Grassi recorded the best lap of the race, which this Saturday will last 45 minutes + one lap.

These are the top five in the standings after four stages: 1) Mitch Evans (New Zealand, Panasonic Jaguar), 47 points; 2) Alexander Sims (England, BMW Andretti), 46; 3) Antonio Felix da Costa (Portugal, DS Techeetah), 39; 4) Stoffel Vandoorne (Belgium, Mercedes-Benz), 5) Lucas Di Grassi (Brazil, Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler), 32.